Date for your Diary

The dates for this year's conference are 13th and 14th October 2017.

The venue is Knockranny House Hotel, Westport, Co. Mayo, Ireland.

The President Mr. Don McShane invites you to attend.

Countdown to IOS 2017

Wilde Discourser 2017 - Prof Valerie Lund (CBE)

The Wilde Discourser for 2017 will be Prof Valerie Lund (CBE). Valerie Lund is Professor of Rhinology at the Ear Institute, University College London and is an Honorary Consultant ENT Surgeon at the Royal National Throat Nose and Ear Hospital (Royal Free Trust), Moorfields Eye Hospital, University College Hospital and Imperial College.

She deals with all nose and sinus conditions with a particular interest in sinonasal tumours and has been involved in endoscopic sinus surgery and its extended applications since the early 1980’s. She has contributed extensively to the literature with 30 books and monographs, 79 chapters and over 250 peer-reviewed papers.

She holds a number of national and international administrative posts including the Chief Editor of ‘Rhinology’ , is Co-Chairman of the European Academy of Allergy & Clinical Immunology Taskforce on Rhinosinusitis (EP3OS) and became General Secretary of the European Rhinologic Society in 2008.

She was an elected member of the Council of the Royal College of Surgeons of England from 1995 to 2006, was Chairman of the Intercollegiate Examination Board in Otolaryngology until 2007 and previously chaired the organisation, Women in Surgical Training (WIST) for the UK. In 2008 she was awarded a CBE for services to medicine and in 2009 was elected to the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

Guest Faculty

Mr J Elgan Davies Consultant ENT Surgeon MB, BCh, FRCS

Elgan Davies teaches on endoscopic sinus surgery courses in the UK and overseas. Developed technique and service for endoscopic pituitary surgery with colleagues in West Midlands. He is an acting committee member of BAOHNS. His clinical interests include Ear, nose and throat, Paediatric otolaryngology, Hearing loss, Head and neck surgery, Balance disorders, Sinus disease Ostosclerosis / stapes surgery Salivary tumours Balloon Sinuplasty. His professional memberships include British Association Otolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery and European Rhinological Society. He currently works for the NHS as Consultant ENT Surgeon, Macclesfield District Hospital & Leighton Hospital, Crewe.

Prof. Dr Prepageran Narayanan

Professor Narayanan started his career with MBBS University Malaya in 1993. His area of expertise includes Otorhinolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery, Advanced Endoscopic Sinus Surgery, Endoscopic Skull Base Surgery, Otology, Neurotology, Skull Base Surgery and Cochlear Implants. He worked abroad in UK under the sponsorship of the Royal College of Surgeons of England. (Certificate of Completion of Training) in 98-99 and Clinical Fellowship in Neurotology & Advanced Otology ,Skull Base Surgery ( Nov 2002–Nov 2003) in Toronto General Hospital , University Health Network , University of Toronto. He is currently Professor and Head of Dept of Otorhinolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, University Malaya and Chairman of the National Otorhinolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery Specialty Training Board . He is very actively involved in research with numerous research grants. He is often an invited expert Surgeon for Complex endoscopic sinonasal skull base, Cochlear Implant and Neurotology cases in the Malaysia and the Region. He is currently the visiting professor of Chiang Mai University and is the Mentors of the Skull Base Fellowship program in University Malaya which receives fellows and surgeons from all over the worlds for attachment and training. He is a member of numerous national and international organizations including the International Consensus of Nasal Polyps Working Group, Asean Rhinology Society, Academy of Medicine: Malaysia, American Academy of Otolaryngology- Head and Neck Surgery, Asean Academy of Neurotology and Otology, and International Federation of Skull Base Surgery. He is also a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and the Royal College of Surgeons of Glasgow. He is also member of Court of examiner in Masters in ENT in Malaysia and has been an external examiner for numerous Masters thesis and currently supervises PhD student. He has been the external examiner of the Singapore Masters ENT Examination in 2011. He has been awarded numerous local and international awards including the Excellent Service Award and the Certificate of Merit for Distinguished Service, as well as the Distinction in Masters in Otolaryngology, all by the University of Malaya; is a four-time recipient of the Certificate of Merit ( for CME-Malaysian Medical Association) by the Malaysian Medical Association; Medals for innovations at Innovation and Invention Exhibitions and gold medals for international presentations. He has also been named in the prestigious Whos Who in Asia Marquis, as well as the Whos Who in Medicine and Healthcare Marquis Whos Who (6th Edition; 2006-2007). U.S.A. He is the author of more than 9 textbooks, more than 110 papers published in local and international journals with numerous surgical video demonstrations to his credit. He is currently part of Editorial Board and Reviewer of more than 15 journals (Local & International). He is also often invited aa speaker and presenter in his area of expertise and has been invited to give lectures more than 200 conferences and workshops locally and internationally.

Prof. Ray Sacks (Sydney, Australia)

Ray Sacks is Professor and Head of Department of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery at Macquarie University in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. He is also a Clinical Professor at Sydney University and is the Academic Head of the Department of ENT Surgery at Concord Hospital in Sydney . He was the Chief Examiner in Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons from 2012-2014 and was the President of the Australian and New Zealand Rhinologic Society from 2008-2013. He is a Past President of the NSW branch of the ASOHNS Society and has convened multiple conferences, Endoscopic Sinus Surgical courses and workshops throughout Australia, Asia and North and South America.

Ray is an associate editor and sits on the Editorial Boards of both the American Journal of Rhinology and Allergy and the British Journal of Laryngology and Otology. He has published over 100 scientific papers in peer reviewed journals and 13 book chapters.

He was recently awarded the Australian Society of Otolaryngology – Head and neck Surgery Medal for 2015 for “Outstanding Contribution to the Art and Science of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery” and was awarded the International Rhinology Society medal for “Distinguished service to the International Rhinologic Community” in Brazil in May this year.

Updated: Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery (ORL HNS), Registrar’s Prize Meeting, Sat 8th April 2017

Venue: Hotel Kilkenny, Kilkenny
Register by 06/04/2017
Cost €10 Public / Free Members

All those attending must register for event. Receipts will be issued to non-members.
RAMI Members may attend for free.

Programme is now available to download

Guest speaker Manuel Bernal-Sprekelsen, Barcelona

Many thanks, and kind regards,
Dr. S Guan Khoo

The Liverpool Rhinology And Anterior Skull Base Surgery Fellowship Programme

Applications for the August 2018 post is now open.
This post has been approved by the Royal College of Surgeons of England (RCSEng) and the British Association of Otorhinolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery (ENTUK) to have met the standards of the Senior Clinical Fellowship Scheme.
Apply here.