Report on the 52nd Annual Meeting of the
Irish Otolaryngological Society

Dates: 6th – 8th October 2011, Venue: Killarney Park Hotel, Co. Kerry, Republic of Ireland

The 52nd Annual Meeting of the Irish Otolaryngological Society took place in the historic settings of the Killarney Lake District. Ably organised by the IOS Council, this year’s meeting was well attended and considered by all to be a phenomenal success.

A wide variety of papers were presented, and the application of advances in technology featured heavily amongst the topics discussed. Of particular interest were the papers presented on photodynamic therapy in head and neck cancers (St Vincent’s Hospital), remote voice pathology assessment (Beaumont Hospital), and the use of the Mute button in the treatment of tinnitus (St James’s Hospital).

Visitation of controversial topics such as the criteria for day case surgery (Beaumont Hospital, University Hospital Galway) and centralised services (St Georges Hospital, London) in otolaryngology, ensured lively debate and audience engagement throughout both days.

In addition to local presenters, the guest speakers included Mr. Declan Costello (Birmingham) who gave a superb talk on vocal cord medialisation under local anaesthetic, and Mr. Anshul Sama (Nottingham), who provided a fascinating insight into his structured approach to frontal sinus surgery.

The program for the first day concluded with the Wilde Discourse, given this year by Mr. John Watkinson (Birmingham), whose witty discursive on his personal perspectives on a career in thyroid surgery was enjoyed by all.

The prize giving and the Gala dinner were brought to a close by a warm tribute to Esme H. Hadfield by former President of the Society, Mr. Hugh Burns.

The final day of the meeting concluded with a comprehensive overview of thyroid surgery. Outstanding contributions by Professor Conrad Timon (Dublin), Mr. Patrick Sheahan (Cork), Ted McNaboe and Mr. Gary McGee (both Craigavon), were made and the meeting was closed following the election of Mr. Tadhg O Dwyer (Dublin) as the in-coming President.

This annual meeting continues to be a key event in the Irish otolaryngology calendar, and the high caliber of contributions at this year’s conference will ensure its continued support in the future.

Report by :
Phoebe Roche (ENT SpR)
Nash Patil Photos