IOS 2017 Report

Dear Colleagues,

The 58 th annual conference of the Irish Otorhinolaryngology Society was held in Knockranny House Hotel in the picturesque town of Westport, Co. Mayo on the 13 th and 14 th of October 2017.

The meeting was well attended by trainees, consultants, and distinguished speakers travelling from departments in all four provinces in Ireland and further afield.

The morning started with an exciting panel discussion on Frontiers in Rhinology which was chaired by Professor Valerie Lund (London) and Professor Ray Sacks (Sydney) with contributions from Mr Mohammad Amin, Mr Peter Lacy, Ms Mona Thornton, Mr Elgan Davies (UK), Dr Brendan Hanna and Professor Prepageran Narayanan (Malaysia).
Professor Sacks and Narayanan completed this session with fascinating talks on advances in skull base surgery. In particular the remarkable work they both presented on improving endoscopic approaches to both the sinuses and more advanced work was of use to all present.

The afternoon session in Paediatrics, Rhinology and Head and Neck Surgery saw presentations from north and south of the border. It was also encouraging to note both in this session (and throughout the conference) that presentations were of a uniformly high standard and from all grades of trainee from intern to fellow.

We had the privilege this year of welcoming Professor Valerie Lund CBE as this year’s Wilde discourser. Valerie Lund is a Professor of Rhinology at the Ear Institute University College London, and is a world renowned expert in endoscopic sinus surgery with a particular interest in sinonasal tumours. Professor Lund delivered a witty and informative exposition on the forgotten sense - olfaction ! The discourse flowed seamlessly from the basic mammalian and human science of olfaction to the expansion and horizon of research in the area, touching on the social implications of sense of smell along the way. This was followed by a Gala dinner which was thoroughly enjoyed by all, and provided an opportunity for the fellowship that is such a key part of the annual meeting.

Day two began with guest lectures from Professor Stephen Lane, Professor Prepageran Narayanan and Mr Elgan Davies, covering a variety of topics including frontal sinus surgery, immunotherapy and rhinoplasty. Following this there was another free paper session in Otology where trainees had the opportunity to present their exciting research and cases.

The weekend concluded with best poster, best presentation and best research prizes being presented to Ross O Shea, Bronagh Lang, Robbie Woods and Fatemeh Keshtkar.

In addition we saw the election of Ms Cate Scally as the incoming President of the IOS. We look forward to seeing everyone in Ballymena next year!

Bronagh Lang ST3 ENT
Colin Leonard ST6 ENT
Professor Nash Patil


Best paper prizes were awarded to Bronagh Lang and Ross O’Shea and the judges on this occasion were Professor Rory McConn Walsh and Rosie Stewart.

Association of Cytokeratin 7 and Cytokeratin 19 with HPV in Oropharyngeal Squamous Cell Carcinoma
RSR Woods, H Jawad, E O’Regan, CV Timon, L Feeley, P Sheanan
Best Scientific Poster

Improving management of patients with epistaxis in the Emergency Department: An e-learning experience.
Dr Fatemeh keshtkar, Mr Warren Bennett, Mr Michael Rice, Dr Rob Stacey, Mr Robin Youngs
Best Clinical Poster

Prize Judges

Tom Moran and

Cathy Smith